Visa lottery Closed United States
Diversity Visa (DV) Program (green card lottery)
Run by U.S. Department of State
Closed for now. The DV-2027 entry period has not opened and no start date is announced. Since August 2026 the State Department has paused all diversity visa issuance, with no exceptions. The list of countries whose natives are excluded from the next DV year is not published yet. Under Proclamation 10998, immigrant visas are suspended for nationals of Burkina Faso, Chad, Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Libya, Mali, Niger, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan and Sudan (full suspension) and of Angola, Benin, Burundi, Cote d'Ivoire, Gabon, The Gambia, Malawi, Mauritania, Nigeria, Senegal, Tanzania, Togo, Zambia and Zimbabwe (partial suspension). Entries are made only on the official E-DV website, dvprogram.state.gov. Never pay anyone to enter for you.
- Job offer
- Not required
- Language
- Not stated on the official page
- Education
- Not stated on the official page
- Work experience
- Not stated on the official page
- Government fee
- Entry is free. If selected: Diversity Visa Application Fee USD 330 per person. The State Department fee page also lists a Diversity Visa Registration Fee of USD 1.00, paid only by the principal applicant.
- Processing time
- No DV-2027 entry period is open. The DV-2027 visa year runs from Oct 1, 2026 to Sep 30, 2027, but issuance is paused.
- Money you must show
- Not stated on the official page
- When and to whom you pay
- The application fee is paid to the U.S. Department of State, per person, only by selected applicants.
Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says
Read on travel.state.gov on 2026-10-18: "There is no cost to register for the DV Program."; "We will announce the start date for the DV-2027 registration period as soon as practicable"; "Effective immediately, the Department of State has paused all visa issuances to diversity immigrant visa applicants."; fee page: "Diversity Visa Application Fee (per person ...) | $330.00" and "Diversity Visa Registration Fee (paid at time of registration only by the principal applicant) | $1.00" Another official page. Another official page. Another official page. Another official page.