Study, then work United States
F-1 Student Visa and Optional Practical Training (OPT)
Run by U.S. Department of State and U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS)
Students admitted to a SEVP-approved U.S. school. After study, eligible students can apply for up to 12 months of OPT work, and STEM graduates for a 24-month extension. F visas are suspended under Proclamation 10998 for nationals of Burkina Faso, Chad, Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Libya, Mali, Niger, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan and Sudan (full suspension) and of Angola, Benin, Burundi, Cote d'Ivoire, Gabon, The Gambia, Malawi, Mauritania, Nigeria, Senegal, Tanzania, Togo, Zambia and Zimbabwe (partial suspension).
- Job offer
- Not required for the student visa. OPT needs a recommendation from your school's designated school official.
- Language
- Not stated on the official page
- Education
- Admission to a SEVP-approved school. You may be asked for transcripts and test scores.
- Work experience
- Not required
- Government fee
- Visa application fee USD 185. SEVIS I-901 fee is required; the amount is not stated on the visa page. OPT: Form I-765 USD 520 on paper or USD 470 online (general I-765 fee in G-1055).
- Processing time
- Not stated on the official page
- Money you must show
- You must show how you will pay all costs. No amount is stated on the official page.
- When and to whom you pay
- The visa fee is paid to the Department of State before the interview. The I-765 fee is paid to USCIS when applying for OPT.
Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says
Read on travel.state.gov on 2026-10-18: "The first step to studying in the United States is apply to a SEVP-approved school in the United States."; "Application Fee $185"; uscis.gov: "Eligible students can apply to receive up to 12 months of OPT employment authorization"; fee page (G-1055): "Paper Filing: $520 Online Filing: $470" Another official page. Another official page. Another official page. Another official page.