Study, then work France
Student long-stay visa
Run by France-Visas (Ministry of the Interior and Ministry for Europe and Foreign Affairs)
Students accepted by a French higher education institution. Many African countries use the Etudes en France procedure through Campus France.
- Job offer
- Not required. Students may work up to 964 hours a year.
- Language
- Not stated on the official page
- Education
- Acceptance by a higher education establishment in France.
- Work experience
- Not required.
- Government fee
- EUR 50 in countries with the Etudes en France procedure, EUR 99 in other countries
- Processing time
- Not stated on the official page
- Money you must show
- For applications from 1 August 2026, proof of income of at least EUR 877.50 per month. Tuition ranges from a few hundred euros to over EUR 10,000 a year.
- When and to whom you pay
- When you apply for the visa.
Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says
Read on france-visas.gouv.fr on 2026-10-18: "You must be accepted by a higher education establishment"; "Visa pricing for countries or territories with EEF procedure: 50 €*"; "Visa pricing for other countries: 99 €*"; home page: "a minimum of €877.50 per month". Another official page. Another official page.