4 routes into France.
Talent and high skill
France
Run by France-Visas (Ministry of the Interior and Ministry for Europe and Foreign Affairs)
Graduates or experienced professionals with a job contract of a year or more in France at the Blue Card salary. Valid up to 4 years, and family may come with you.
- Job offer
- Required. A contract of one year or more, with a salary of at least 1.5 times the average gross reference salary (EUR 59,373 a year since 21 August 2025).
- Language
- Not stated on the official page
- Education
- At least three years of higher education at a state-recognised institution, or at least five years of comparable professional experience.
- Work experience
- Five years of comparable professional experience can replace the degree.
- Government fee
- EUR 99 for a long-stay visa
- Processing time
- Not stated on the official page
- Money you must show
- Not stated on the official page
- When and to whom you pay
- When you apply for the long-stay visa.
Read the official page
Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says
Read on france-visas.gouv.fr on 2026-10-18: "You must hold a qualification demonstrating at least three years of higher education awarded by a State-recognised higher education establishment or have at least five years comparable professional experience."; "(€59,373 since August 21, 2025)". FAQ: "€99 for long-stay visas". Another official page. Another official page.
Talent and high skill
France
Run by France-Visas (Ministry of the Interior and Ministry for Europe and Foreign Affairs)
Researchers and academics with at least a master's degree and a hosting agreement from a French research or higher education body.
- Only for people in science and research, teaching and education.
- Job offer
- A hosting agreement from an approved institution, for no more than four years.
- Language
- Not stated on the official page
- Education
- At least a master's degree.
- Work experience
- Not stated on the official page
- Government fee
- EUR 99 for a long-stay visa
- Processing time
- Not stated on the official page
- Money you must show
- Not stated on the official page
- When and to whom you pay
- When you apply for the long-stay visa.
Read the official page
Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says
Read on france-visas.gouv.fr on 2026-10-18: "You are qualified to at least Master's level." FAQ: "€99 for long-stay visas". Another official page. Another official page.
Investor
France
Run by France-Visas (Ministry of the Interior and Ministry for Europe and Foreign Affairs)
People with a master's degree or five years of experience who will invest at least EUR 30,000 to set up a business in France.
- Only for people in business.
- Job offer
- Not required. You create your own company.
- Language
- Not stated on the official page
- Education
- A master's degree, or five years of professional experience at a comparable level.
- Work experience
- Five years at a comparable level can replace the master's degree.
- Government fee
- EUR 99 for a long-stay visa
- Processing time
- Not stated on the official page
- Money you must show
- An investment of at least EUR 30,000 in the project.
- When and to whom you pay
- When you apply for the long-stay visa.
Read the official page
Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says
Read on france-visas.gouv.fr on 2026-10-18: "You must invest at least €30,000 in the project". FAQ: "€99 for long-stay visas". Another official page. Another official page.
Study, then work
France
Run by France-Visas (Ministry of the Interior and Ministry for Europe and Foreign Affairs)
Students accepted by a French higher education institution. Many African countries use the Etudes en France procedure through Campus France.
- Job offer
- Not required. Students may work up to 964 hours a year.
- Language
- Not stated on the official page
- Education
- Acceptance by a higher education establishment in France.
- Work experience
- Not required.
- Government fee
- EUR 50 in countries with the Etudes en France procedure, EUR 99 in other countries
- Processing time
- Not stated on the official page
- Money you must show
- For applications from 1 August 2026, proof of income of at least EUR 877.50 per month. Tuition ranges from a few hundred euros to over EUR 10,000 a year.
- When and to whom you pay
- When you apply for the visa.
Read the official page
Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says
Read on france-visas.gouv.fr on 2026-10-18: "You must be accepted by a higher education establishment"; "Visa pricing for countries or territories with EEF procedure: 50 €*"; "Visa pricing for other countries: 99 €*"; home page: "a minimum of €877.50 per month". Another official page. Another official page.