Qualify AfricaBeta
Partner with us

All relocation routes

Relocation and Japa

Legal ways for Africans to move to Spain

The routes Spain's government runs itself, each linked to its official page. Fees and the money you must show are copied from that page, with the date we read it. You apply yourself. You never need an agent.

Never pay an agent

Every route below is applied for on the government's own website. Fees go to the government only. Anyone who asks you to pay them for a visa, a job offer or a lottery win is not to be trusted. Check a message or offer.

Routes into Spain

2 routes into Spain.

Remote work (digital nomad) Spain

Visa for international teleworking (digital nomad)

Run by Ministry of Foreign Affairs (consulates) and Large Companies Unit (UGE), Ministry of Inclusion, Social Security and Migration

People who already work remotely for an employer or clients outside Spain, with a degree or at least 3 years of experience in their field. You apply at the Spanish embassy or consulate for the place where you live.

Job offer
Not required in Spain. You need at least 3 months of work for a foreign company before you apply, and the company must allow you to work remotely from Spain.
Language
Not stated on the official page
Education
An undergraduate or postgraduate degree from a university, college or business school of prestige, or at least 3 years of work experience in your current field.
Work experience
At least 3 years of work experience in your field if you have no degree. At least 3 months of work with the foreign company before you apply.
Government fee
Visa fee set by each consulate, paid in local currency. The page says to contact the consular office for the current fee.
Processing time
The page says the legal term for a decision is 10 days, and it may be extended if an interview or more documents are requested.
Money you must show
At least 200% of the Spanish monthly minimum wage. The page gives the 2025 figure as EUR 2,762.66 a month. Add 75% of the minimum wage for the first family member and 25% for each other family member.
When and to whom you pay
Paid at the consulate when you submit the visa application, in local currency and in cash, according to the page read.

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on exteriores.gob.es (Embassy of Spain in Canberra) on 2026-10-18: "The applicant must have an undergraduate or postgraduate degree from a University, College or Business School of prestige, or have at least 3 years of work experience in their current field of activity."; "Financial means must be at least 200% of the monthly Spanish national minimum wage."; fee: "Please contact the Consular Office to verify the current visa fee." UGE page (inclusion.gob.es): "Nacionales de terceros países que se desplazan a España para ejercer una actividad laboral o profesional a distancia para empresas radicadas fuera del territorio nacional". Another official page.

Work visa Spain

Highly qualified professional residence permit and EU Blue Card

Run by Large Companies and Strategic Groups Unit (UGE-CE), Ministry of Inclusion, Social Security and Migration

Graduates or experienced professionals with a job offer in Spain for a managerial or highly qualified post. The Spanish employer applies online first. You then apply for the visa at the consulate where you live.

Job offer
Required. EU Blue Card: a contract or firm offer of highly qualified work for at least 6 months. The employer files the application.
Language
Not stated on the official page
Education
EU Blue Card: a higher education qualification of at least 3 years (EQF level 6), or 5 years of comparable professional experience. National permit: a qualification at least at level 1 of the Spanish higher education framework, or 3 years of comparable experience.
Work experience
EU Blue Card without a degree: 5 years of relevant experience, or 3 years within the last 7 years for ICT managers and professionals. National permit without a degree: 3 years.
Government fee
Fee form Model 790 code 038, heading 7.1, for the initial residence authorisation. The amount is not stated on the page read. A separate visa fee is paid at the consulate.
Processing time
The page says the authorisation is decided within 20 days of electronic submission, and the consulate decides the visa within 10 working days.
Money you must show
Sufficient resources for yourself and your family. The page says this can be shown through the work contract. Salary threshold for the EU Blue Card is set by a separate order and is not stated on the page read.
When and to whom you pay
The authorisation fee becomes due when the application is admitted for processing and must be paid within 10 working days. The visa fee is paid when you apply at the consulate.

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on inclusion.gob.es (Sheet 66) on 2026-10-18: "a minimum of five years of knowledge, skills and competences supported by professional experience";"Model 790 code 038, heading 7.1"; "twenty days from the electronic submission of the application". UGE page: "Profesionales extranjeros con una oferta de trabajo en España". Another official page. Another official page.

How to keep your money safe