3 routes into Japan.
Work visa
Japan
Run by Immigration Services Agency of Japan (Ministry of Justice)
Workers aged 18 or over who pass a Japanese test and a skills test in one of the listed fields, such as care, construction, agriculture, food service or manufacturing. The official test schedule lists no African country as a test venue. The FAQ says people from other countries may sit the tests in a country where they are held. Family members cannot join on this status.
- Only for people in health, trades and hospitality, agriculture, engineering and building, something else.
- Job offer
- Required. You need an employment contract with a Japanese employer and a Certificate of Eligibility before applying for the visa.
- Language
- JFT-Basic or JLPT N4 or above. JLPT N3 for taxi, bus and railway transport staff.
- Education
- No education requirement, according to the official FAQ.
- Work experience
- No set years. You must pass the skills test for your field.
- Government fee
- About JPY 15,000 for a single-entry visa or about JPY 30,000 for a multiple-entry visa, for applications at overseas missions from June 24, 2026. The page gives these as approximate yen amounts; the fee is paid in local currency and may differ by nationality. Test fees are separate and are not given as a fixed amount on the official page.
- Processing time
- Not stated on the official page
- Money you must show
- Not stated on the official page
- When and to whom you pay
- To the Japanese embassy or consulate when the visa is issued. The page says no fee is charged if the visa is not issued.
Read the official page
Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says
Read on ssw.go.jp on 2026-10-18: "In order to work under a Specified Skilled Worker (i) status of residence, you need to pass a Japanese language test and a skills proficiency test."; moj.go.jp FAQ: "学歴についての要件はありませんが、日本語試験及び技能試験に合格する必要があります。また、特定技能外国人は、18歳以上である必要があります。"; mofa.go.jp: "COE is required to apply for a Specified skilled worker visa."; fee page: "approximately 15,000 yen for a single-entry visa and approximately 30,000 yen for a multiple-entry visa"; "If a visa is not issued, no visa fee will be charged." Another official page. Another official page. Another official page. Another official page.
Work visa
Japan
Run by Immigration Services Agency of Japan (Ministry of Justice)
Graduates or experienced staff hired by a Japanese organisation for professional, technical, language or international work.
- Job offer
- Required. You need a contract with an organisation in Japan.
- Language
- Not stated as a general rule. From April 15, 2026, some employers must show CEFR B2 in the working language for customer facing language jobs. JLPT N2 or above or BJT 400 or above counts.
- Education
- A university degree, or equivalent education, in a subject related to the job. Experience can replace the degree.
- Work experience
- Without a related degree: 10 years of work experience, which can include study time. For international services work: 3 years of related experience, except university graduates doing translation, interpreting or language teaching.
- Government fee
- About JPY 15,000 for a single-entry visa or about JPY 30,000 for a multiple-entry visa, for applications at overseas missions from June 24, 2026. The page gives these as approximate yen amounts; the fee is paid in local currency and may differ by nationality.
- Processing time
- Not stated on the official page
- Money you must show
- Not stated as savings. Pay must be at least what a Japanese person would earn for the same work.
- When and to whom you pay
- To the Japanese embassy or consulate when the visa is issued. The page says no fee is charged if the visa is not issued.
Read the official page
Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says
Read on moj.go.jp criteria (001366995.pdf) on 2026-10-18: "当該技術若しくは知識に関連する科目を専攻して大学を卒業し、又はこれと同等以上の教育を受けたこと"; "十年以上の実務経験"; "日本人が従事する場合に受ける報酬と同等額以上の報酬を受けること"; fee page: "approximately 15,000 yen for a single-entry visa and approximately 30,000 yen for a multiple-entry visa"; "If a visa is not issued, no visa fee will be charged." Another official page. Another official page.
Talent and high skill
Japan
Run by Immigration Services Agency of Japan (Ministry of Justice)
Researchers, engineers, specialists and managers who score 70 points or more for degree, career, salary and other items. Holders get a 5 year stay and can apply for permanent residence after 3 years with 70 points, or 1 year with 80 points.
- Job offer
- Required. The status is based on a contract with an organisation in Japan.
- Language
- Not required. Japanese ability earns extra points.
- Education
- No fixed minimum. A bachelor's degree gives 10 points, a master's 20 and a doctorate 30.
- Work experience
- No fixed minimum. Work experience earns points.
- Government fee
- About JPY 15,000 for a single-entry visa or about JPY 30,000 for a multiple-entry visa, for applications at overseas missions from June 24, 2026. The page gives these as approximate yen amounts; the fee is paid in local currency and may differ by nationality.
- Processing time
- Target of 10 days from acceptance for a Certificate of Eligibility, and 5 days for residence procedures in Japan.
- Money you must show
- Not stated as savings. Specialist and management types need annual pay of at least JPY 3 million.
- When and to whom you pay
- To the Japanese embassy or consulate when the visa is issued. The page says no fee is charged if the visa is not issued.
Read the official page
Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says
Read on moj.go.jp Q&A on 2026-10-18: "ポイントの合計点が70点以上であることが必要です"; "申請受理から10日以内"; points table: "An annual salary of at least 3 million yen is required for advanced specialized / technical activities or advanced business management activities"; fee page: "approximately 15,000 yen for a single-entry visa and approximately 30,000 yen for a multiple-entry visa"; "If a visa is not issued, no visa fee will be charged." Another official page. Another official page. Another official page. Another official page.