Work visa Japan
Specified Skilled Worker (i)
Run by Immigration Services Agency of Japan (Ministry of Justice)
Workers aged 18 or over who pass a Japanese test and a skills test in one of the listed fields, such as care, construction, agriculture, food service or manufacturing. The official test schedule lists no African country as a test venue. The FAQ says people from other countries may sit the tests in a country where they are held. Family members cannot join on this status.
- Only for people in health, trades and hospitality, agriculture, engineering and building, something else.
- Job offer
- Required. You need an employment contract with a Japanese employer and a Certificate of Eligibility before applying for the visa.
- Language
- JFT-Basic or JLPT N4 or above. JLPT N3 for taxi, bus and railway transport staff.
- Education
- No education requirement, according to the official FAQ.
- Work experience
- No set years. You must pass the skills test for your field.
- Government fee
- About JPY 15,000 for a single-entry visa or about JPY 30,000 for a multiple-entry visa, for applications at overseas missions from June 24, 2026. The page gives these as approximate yen amounts; the fee is paid in local currency and may differ by nationality. Test fees are separate and are not given as a fixed amount on the official page.
- Processing time
- Not stated on the official page
- Money you must show
- Not stated on the official page
- When and to whom you pay
- To the Japanese embassy or consulate when the visa is issued. The page says no fee is charged if the visa is not issued.
Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says
Read on ssw.go.jp on 2026-10-18: "In order to work under a Specified Skilled Worker (i) status of residence, you need to pass a Japanese language test and a skills proficiency test."; moj.go.jp FAQ: "学歴についての要件はありませんが、日本語試験及び技能試験に合格する必要があります。また、特定技能外国人は、18歳以上である必要があります。"; mofa.go.jp: "COE is required to apply for a Specified skilled worker visa."; fee page: "approximately 15,000 yen for a single-entry visa and approximately 30,000 yen for a multiple-entry visa"; "If a visa is not issued, no visa fee will be charged." Another official page. Another official page. Another official page. Another official page.