Work visa Japan
Engineer, Specialist in Humanities and International Services
Run by Immigration Services Agency of Japan (Ministry of Justice)
Graduates or experienced staff hired by a Japanese organisation for professional, technical, language or international work.
- Job offer
- Required. You need a contract with an organisation in Japan.
- Language
- Not stated as a general rule. From April 15, 2026, some employers must show CEFR B2 in the working language for customer facing language jobs. JLPT N2 or above or BJT 400 or above counts.
- Education
- A university degree, or equivalent education, in a subject related to the job. Experience can replace the degree.
- Work experience
- Without a related degree: 10 years of work experience, which can include study time. For international services work: 3 years of related experience, except university graduates doing translation, interpreting or language teaching.
- Government fee
- About JPY 15,000 for a single-entry visa or about JPY 30,000 for a multiple-entry visa, for applications at overseas missions from June 24, 2026. The page gives these as approximate yen amounts; the fee is paid in local currency and may differ by nationality.
- Processing time
- Not stated on the official page
- Money you must show
- Not stated as savings. Pay must be at least what a Japanese person would earn for the same work.
- When and to whom you pay
- To the Japanese embassy or consulate when the visa is issued. The page says no fee is charged if the visa is not issued.
Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says
Read on moj.go.jp criteria (001366995.pdf) on 2026-10-18: "当該技術若しくは知識に関連する科目を専攻して大学を卒業し、又はこれと同等以上の教育を受けたこと"; "十年以上の実務経験"; "日本人が従事する場合に受ける報酬と同等額以上の報酬を受けること"; fee page: "approximately 15,000 yen for a single-entry visa and approximately 30,000 yen for a multiple-entry visa"; "If a visa is not issued, no visa fee will be charged." Another official page. Another official page.