Work visa Canada
Post-Graduation Work Permit (PGWP)
Run by Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC)
International students who finished a program of at least 8 months at a PGWP-eligible designated learning institution in Canada. Work done on it can count toward the Canadian Experience Class.
- Job offer
- Not required
- Language
- University bachelor's, master's or doctoral graduates: CLB 7 (NCLC 7). College or polytechnic graduates: CLB 5 (NCLC 5).
- Education
- Completed a program of at least 8 months (900 hours in Quebec) at a PGWP-eligible designated learning institution. Graduates below bachelor's level who applied for their study permit on or after November 1, 2024 must have studied an eligible field.
- Work experience
- Not required
- Government fee
- CAD 255 (work permit fee CAD 155 + open work permit holder fee CAD 100). Biometrics CAD 85.
- Processing time
- Not stated on the official page
- Money you must show
- Not stated on the official page
- When and to whom you pay
- Paid online to IRCC at the end of the application. Apply within 180 days of confirmation that you completed your program.
Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says
Read on canada.ca on 2026-10-18: "at least 8 months long (or 900 hours for Quebec programs)"; "apply for your PGWP within 180 days of confirmation that you completed your program of study"; about page: "The length of your PGWP depends on the level and duration of your study program", programs of 2 years or more: "We may give you a PGWP that's valid for 3 years." Apply page: "pay the correct fee ($255)". Fee page: work permit "155.00", "Open work permit holder 100.00". Another official page. Another official page. Another official page.