Study, then work Canada
Study permit
Run by Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC)
People accepted by a designated learning institution (DLI) in Canada who can pay tuition and living costs. Most applicants also need a provincial or territorial attestation letter, which you get after accepting your offer and paying tuition. Quebec students need a Quebec Acceptance Certificate (CAQ) instead.
- Job offer
- Not required
- Language
- Not stated on the official page. Your school sets its own language requirement.
- Education
- A letter of acceptance from a designated learning institution is always required.
- Work experience
- Not required
- Government fee
- CAD 150 per person. Biometrics CAD 85 per person (CAD 170 maximum for a family).
- Processing time
- Not stated on the official page
- Money you must show
- Outside Quebec, for applications on or after September 1, 2026: CAD 23,448 a year for 1 person for living costs, plus your tuition and transportation, which are not included.
- When and to whom you pay
- Paid online to IRCC when you submit the study permit application.
Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says
Read on canada.ca on 2026-10-18: eligibility: "are enrolled at a DLI"; documents page: letter of acceptance "Always required", attestation letter "Needed in most cases". Financial support page: "If you apply on or after September 1, 2026", "All provinces and territories except Quebec", 1 person "$23,448"; "These amounts do not include tuition and transportation costs." Fee page: "Study permit (including extensions) - per person 150.00". Another official page. Another official page. Another official page.