Study, then work Australia
Student visa (subclass 500)
Run by Department of Home Affairs
Students enrolled in a registered course in Australia who can show funds for living, course and travel costs. Under rules from 2 October 2026 most students cannot bring family members unless exempt.
- Job offer
- Not required.
- Language
- English evidence depends on your main course. The level is not stated on the page read. At home tests are not accepted.
- Education
- A valid Confirmation of Enrolment (CoE) in a registered course. You must be aged 6 or older.
- Work experience
- Not required.
- Government fee
- AUD 2,500 for the main applicant (AUD 2,050 for ELICOS and Non Award courses). AUD 1,530 for each additional applicant aged 18 or over. AUD 500 for each additional applicant under 18.
- Processing time
- Not stated on the official page
- Money you must show
- Living costs of AUD 29,710 a year for the student (AUD 10,394 for a partner, AUD 4,449 for a child), plus first year course fees, plus travel: AUD 2,500 if applying from East or Southern Africa, AUD 3,000 if applying from West Africa. Or show parents' or partner's income of at least AUD 87,856 (AUD 102,500 with family).
- When and to whom you pay
- Paid online through ImmiAccount when you lodge the application.
Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says
Read on immi.homeaffairs.gov.au on 2026-10-18: "hold a valid Confirmation of Enrolment (CoE)"; "students - AUD29,710"; "AUD2,500 for travel costs if you are applying from East or Southern Africa AUD3,000 for travel costs if you are applying from West Africa"; fee page: "AUD2,500.00". Another official page.