Qualify AfricaBeta
Partner with us

All relocation routes

Relocation and Japa

Legal ways for Africans to move to Australia

The routes Australia's government runs itself, each linked to its official page. Fees and the money you must show are copied from that page, with the date we read it. You apply yourself. You never need an agent.

Never pay an agent

Every route below is applied for on the government's own website. Fees go to the government only. Anyone who asks you to pay them for a visa, a job offer or a lottery win is not to be trusted. Check a message or offer.

Routes into Australia

5 routes into Australia.

Permanent residence Australia

Skilled Independent visa (subclass 189), Points tested stream

Run by Department of Home Affairs

Skilled workers under 45 with an occupation on the skilled list and a positive skills assessment, who are invited after scoring at least 65 points. No sponsor is needed.

Job offer
Not required. You must be invited to apply.
Language
At least competent English at the time of invitation.
Education
A suitable skills assessment for your occupation. No fixed degree level is stated; qualifications count toward points.
Work experience
Not a fixed requirement on the page. Work experience can count toward points.
Government fee
AUD 6,135 for the main applicant. AUD 3,070 for each additional applicant aged 18 or over. AUD 1,540 for each additional applicant under 18. A partner over 18 without functional English pays a second instalment.
Processing time
The page says applications lodged in or before June 2026 are being processed for priority sectors and applicants in Australia. Check the processing time guide tool.
Money you must show
Not stated on the official page
When and to whom you pay
Paid online through ImmiAccount when you lodge the application. The charge is not refunded if the application is refused. You have 60 days from the invitation to apply.

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on immi.homeaffairs.gov.au on 2026-10-18: "This visa lets invited workers with skills we need, to live and work permanently anywhere in Australia."; "You must be aged under 45 when we invite you to apply"; "Be able to score 65 points or more"; fee page: "AUD6,135.00". Another official page.

Permanent residence Australia

Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190)

Run by Department of Home Affairs

Skilled workers under 45 nominated by an Australian state or territory government, with an occupation on the list, a skills assessment and at least 65 points.

Job offer
Not required. You must be nominated by a state or territory government agency and invited.
Language
At least competent English at the time of invitation.
Education
A suitable skills assessment for your occupation. No fixed degree level is stated.
Work experience
Not a fixed requirement on the page. Work experience can count toward points.
Government fee
AUD 6,140 for the main applicant. AUD 3,070 for each additional applicant aged 18 or over. AUD 1,535 for each additional applicant under 18.
Processing time
The page says applications lodged in or before March 2026 are being processed for priority sectors, and January 2026 for applicants in Australia.
Money you must show
Not stated on the official page
When and to whom you pay
Paid online through ImmiAccount when you lodge the application. You have 60 days from the invitation to apply.

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on immi.homeaffairs.gov.au on 2026-10-18: "You must have been nominated for this visa by an Australian state or territory government agency."; fee page: "AUD6,140.00". Another official page.

Work visa Australia

Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 491)

Run by Department of Home Affairs

Skilled workers under 45 willing to live and work in a designated regional area for 5 years, nominated by a state or territory or sponsored by an eligible relative. It can lead to permanent residence after 3 years.

Job offer
Not required. You need a state or territory nomination or sponsorship by an eligible relative, and an invitation.
Language
At least competent English at the time of invitation.
Education
A suitable skills assessment for your occupation. No fixed degree level is stated.
Work experience
Not a fixed requirement on the page. Work experience can count toward points.
Government fee
AUD 6,140 for the main applicant. AUD 3,070 for each additional applicant aged 18 or over. AUD 1,535 for each additional applicant under 18.
Processing time
The page says applications lodged in or before March 2025 are being processed.
Money you must show
Not stated on the official page
When and to whom you pay
Paid online through ImmiAccount when you lodge the application.

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on immi.homeaffairs.gov.au on 2026-10-18: "be nominated to apply by a state or territory government agency, or an eligible relative must sponsor you"; "At the time of invitation, you must have at least Competent English."; fee page: "AUD6,140.00". Another official page. Another official page.

Work visa Australia

Skills in Demand visa (subclass 482), Core Skills stream

Run by Department of Home Affairs

Workers with at least 1 year of experience who are nominated by an approved Australian employer for an occupation on the Core Skills Occupation List. Stay up to 4 years.

Job offer
Required. You must be nominated for a skilled position by an approved sponsor, and work only for that sponsor.
Language
You must meet minimum standards of English unless exempt. The level is not stated on the page read.
Education
A skills assessment if your occupation requires one. No fixed degree level is stated.
Work experience
At least 1 year of relevant work experience in your nominated occupation or a related field.
Government fee
AUD 4,015 for the main applicant. AUD 4,015 for each additional applicant aged 18 or over. AUD 1,005 for each additional applicant under 18. Subsequent temporary application charge AUD 700 if it applies.
Processing time
The landing page says applications lodged in February 2026 are being processed for priority sectors, July 2026 for the Specialist Skills stream, and January 2026 for applicants in Australia.
Money you must show
The salary must be at least the market rate and not less than the Core Skills Income Threshold (CSIT). The amount is not stated on the page read.
When and to whom you pay
Paid online through ImmiAccount when you lodge the application.

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on immi.homeaffairs.gov.au on 2026-10-18: "be nominated to work in an occupation on the Core Skills Occupation List (CSOL)"; "have at least 1 year relevant work experience in your nominated occupation or a related field"; fee page: "AUD4,015.00". Another official page. Another official page.

Study, then work Australia

Student visa (subclass 500)

Run by Department of Home Affairs

Students enrolled in a registered course in Australia who can show funds for living, course and travel costs. Under rules from 2 October 2026 most students cannot bring family members unless exempt.

Job offer
Not required.
Language
English evidence depends on your main course. The level is not stated on the page read. At home tests are not accepted.
Education
A valid Confirmation of Enrolment (CoE) in a registered course. You must be aged 6 or older.
Work experience
Not required.
Government fee
AUD 2,500 for the main applicant (AUD 2,050 for ELICOS and Non Award courses). AUD 1,530 for each additional applicant aged 18 or over. AUD 500 for each additional applicant under 18.
Processing time
Not stated on the official page
Money you must show
Living costs of AUD 29,710 a year for the student (AUD 10,394 for a partner, AUD 4,449 for a child), plus first year course fees, plus travel: AUD 2,500 if applying from East or Southern Africa, AUD 3,000 if applying from West Africa. Or show parents' or partner's income of at least AUD 87,856 (AUD 102,500 with family).
When and to whom you pay
Paid online through ImmiAccount when you lodge the application.

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on immi.homeaffairs.gov.au on 2026-10-18: "hold a valid Confirmation of Enrolment (CoE)"; "students - AUD29,710"; "AUD2,500 for travel costs if you are applying from East or Southern Africa AUD3,000 for travel costs if you are applying from West Africa"; fee page: "AUD2,500.00". Another official page.

How to keep your money safe