Qualify AfricaBeta
Partner with us

All relocation routes

Relocation and Japa

Legal ways for Africans to move to Kenya

The routes Kenya's government runs itself, each linked to its official page. Fees and the money you must show are copied from that page, with the date we read it. You apply yourself. You never need an agent.

Never pay an agent

Every route below is applied for on the government's own website. Fees go to the government only. Anyone who asks you to pay them for a visa, a job offer or a lottery win is not to be trusted. Check a message or offer.

Routes into Kenya

2 routes into Kenya.

Remote work (digital nomad) Kenya

Class N permit (digital nomad)

Run by Directorate of Immigration Services, Kenya

People who work remotely from Kenya for a company registered outside Kenya, including employees, shareholders of foreign companies and self-employed people with clients outside Kenya.

Job offer
Not required. Remote work for a company or clients outside Kenya is required.
Language
Not stated on the official page
Education
Not stated on the official page
Work experience
Not stated on the official page
Government fee
USD 200 processing fee (non-refundable) plus USD 1,000 issuance fee per year
Processing time
21 working days (service charter, permits); renewal 10 working days
Money you must show
Bank statements or payslips for the last 3 months proving monthly income. No minimum amount is stated on the page.
When and to whom you pay
Processing fee paid on application through the eFNS system (eCitizen account) by the invoice generated; issuance fee paid on approval

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on fns.immigration.go.ke on 2026-10-18: "This permit is issued to a person who works remotely within Kenya for a company registered outside the country."; fees "Processing fees(Non-refundable) (US$ 200/=)" and "Issuance fees (US$ 1,000/=) per year". Also requires proof of accommodation and a "Letter of no objection from local embassy of home country". Validity 1 or 2 years, renewable. Service charter: "21 working days". Another official page.

Work visa Kenya

Class D permit (employment)

Run by Directorate of Immigration Services, Kenya

People offered a job by a specific employer in Kenya who have skills or qualifications not available in Kenya. EAC members pay no permit fee.

Job offer
Required: a specific employer in Kenya, who must name a Kenyan understudy
Language
Not stated on the official page
Education
Certified academic and professional certificates
Work experience
Skills or qualifications not available in Kenya. No minimum years are stated.
Government fee
KES 20,000 processing fee (non-refundable) plus KES 500,000 issuance fee per year. EAC members: gratis.
Processing time
21 working days (service charter, permits)
Money you must show
Not stated on the official page
When and to whom you pay
Processing fee paid on application through eFNS; issuance fee paid on approval

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on fns.immigration.go.ke on 2026-10-18: for a person with "skills or qualifications that are not available in Kenya"; processing fee "KES 20,000/=". Service charter PDF on immigration.go.ke: "Class A & D: Ksh. 500,000/- per year" and "East African Community (EAC) Members/Refugees and Diplomats : Gratis"; timeline "21 working days". Another official page.

How to keep your money safe