Remote work (digital nomad) Kenya
Class N permit (digital nomad)
Run by Directorate of Immigration Services, Kenya
People who work remotely from Kenya for a company registered outside Kenya, including employees, shareholders of foreign companies and self-employed people with clients outside Kenya.
- Job offer
- Not required. Remote work for a company or clients outside Kenya is required.
- Language
- Not stated on the official page
- Education
- Not stated on the official page
- Work experience
- Not stated on the official page
- Government fee
- USD 200 processing fee (non-refundable) plus USD 1,000 issuance fee per year
- Processing time
- 21 working days (service charter, permits); renewal 10 working days
- Money you must show
- Bank statements or payslips for the last 3 months proving monthly income. No minimum amount is stated on the page.
- When and to whom you pay
- Processing fee paid on application through the eFNS system (eCitizen account) by the invoice generated; issuance fee paid on approval
Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says
Read on fns.immigration.go.ke on 2026-10-18: "This permit is issued to a person who works remotely within Kenya for a company registered outside the country."; fees "Processing fees(Non-refundable) (US$ 200/=)" and "Issuance fees (US$ 1,000/=) per year". Also requires proof of accommodation and a "Letter of no objection from local embassy of home country". Validity 1 or 2 years, renewable. Service charter: "21 working days". Another official page.