Remote work (digital nomad) South Africa
Remote Work Visa (visitor's visa, section 11(1)(b)(iv))
Run by Department of Home Affairs (DHA)
People employed by a foreign employer who want to work remotely from South Africa for more than 3 months and up to 3 years. The holder may not take up employment in South Africa.
- Job offer
- Contract with a foreign employer required
- Language
- Not stated on the official page
- Education
- Not stated on the official page
- Work experience
- Not stated on the official page
- Government fee
- ZAR 425 (visitor's visa, section 11)
- Processing time
- 60 days for section 11(1) visitor's visas submitted within South Africa (DHA turnaround page)
- Money you must show
- Gross salary of at least ZAR 650,796 per year, shown with three months of bank statements
- When and to whom you pay
- Not stated on the official page
Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says
Read on dha.gov.za on 2026-10-18: "Proof of sufficient financial means, defined as a gross salary of no less than the equivalent of R650 796, 00 per annum in the form of three months bank statements."; holder "is not entitled to take up employment in South Africa". Fees page: visitor's visa section 11 "R425,00". Turnaround page: "Visitor's Visa - Section 11(1)" 60 days. Return ticket required; no change of status inside the country. Another official page. Another official page.