Work visa South Africa
Critical Skills Work Visa
Run by Department of Home Affairs (DHA)
Skilled workers whose occupation is on the latest Critical Skills List and who have a job offer in South Africa.
- Job offer
- Required: offer or contract of employment
- Language
- Not stated on the official page
- Education
- Qualification evaluated by SAQA, and confirmation of skills from a SAQA-recognised professional body
- Work experience
- Appropriate post qualification experience, confirmed by the professional body. No minimum years are stated.
- Government fee
- ZAR 1,520 (work visa, including renewal)
- Processing time
- 4 weeks for applications submitted within South Africa (DHA turnaround page)
- Money you must show
- Not stated on the official page
- When and to whom you pay
- Not stated on the official page
Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says
Read on dha.gov.za on 2026-10-18: occupation must be "on the latest Critical Skills List"; professional body confirms "appropriate post qualification experience"; issued "for a period not exceeding five years at a time". Fees page: "Work visa (including applications for renewal) | 19 | R1 520, 00". Turnaround page: "Critical Skills Visa - Section 19(4) incl. TES" 4 weeks. Also requires medical report and police clearance for countries lived in over 12 months in the last 5 years. Another official page. Another official page. Another official page. Another official page.