Work visa United Kingdom
Skilled Worker visa
Run by UK Visas and Immigration (Home Office)
People with a job offer in a higher skilled occupation from a Home Office approved UK employer, paid at least GBP 41,700 a year or the going rate for the job, whichever is higher. Some medium skilled jobs qualify if on the immigration salary list or temporary shortage list.
- Job offer
- Required, with a certificate of sponsorship from a Home Office approved employer
- Language
- English at CEFR level B2 (B1 only if extending or updating a visa granted before 8 January 2026)
- Education
- Not stated on the official page
- Work experience
- Not stated on the official page
- Government fee
- From outside the UK: GBP 819 per person for up to 3 years; GBP 1,618 per person for more than 3 years (GBP 628 and GBP 1,235 for jobs on the immigration salary list). Plus the healthcare surcharge, usually GBP 1,035 per year.
- Processing time
- Usually 3 weeks from outside the UK, 8 weeks from inside the UK
- Money you must show
- At least GBP 1,270 in your bank account, unless you have had a valid UK visa for 12 months or your employer covers your costs in your first month
- When and to whom you pay
- Paid to the Home Office with the healthcare surcharge when you apply online
Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says
Read on gov.uk on 2026-10-18: "work for a UK employer that's been approved by the Home Office"; job page: "£41,700 per year"; cost page: "up to 3 years - £819 per person", "more than 3 years - £1,618 per person", "this is usually £1,035 per year", "You must have at least £1,270 in your bank account to show you can support yourself in the UK."; English page: "to at least level B2" Another official page. Another official page. Another official page.