Health and care workers United Kingdom
Health and Care Worker visa
Run by UK Visas and Immigration (Home Office)
Doctors, nurses, midwives and other health professionals with a job offer from a Home Office approved UK health or social care employer. New applications for care worker jobs (code 6135) are not accepted; that code is only for people extending, updating or switching inside the UK.
- Only for people in health.
- Job offer
- Required, from a Home Office approved employer, in an eligible health or social care job
- Language
- English at CEFR level B2 (B1 only if extending or updating a visa granted before 8 January 2026). Doctors, dentists, nurses and midwives who passed an English assessment accepted by their professional body are exempt.
- Education
- Not stated on the official page
- Work experience
- Not stated on the official page
- Government fee
- GBP 324 per person for up to 3 years; GBP 628 per person for more than 3 years. No healthcare surcharge.
- Processing time
- Usually 3 weeks
- Money you must show
- At least GBP 1,270 in your bank account, unless you have been in the UK with a valid visa for 12 months or your employer covers your costs in your first month
- When and to whom you pay
- Paid to the Home Office when you apply online. The fee is the same inside or outside the UK.
Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says
Read on gov.uk on 2026-10-18: "You must have a confirmed job offer before you apply for your visa."; surcharge: "You - and your partner or children - will not have to pay the healthcare surcharge."; cost page: "up to 3 years - £324 per person", "more than 3 years - £628 per person", "You must have at least £1,270 in your bank account"; English page: "to at least level B2"; job page: "You’ll usually need to be paid at least £25,000." Another official page. Another official page. Another official page.