Qualify AfricaBeta
Partner with us

All relocation routes

Relocation and Japa

Legal ways for Africans to move to United Kingdom

The routes United Kingdom's government runs itself, each linked to its official page. Fees and the money you must show are copied from that page, with the date we read it. You apply yourself. You never need an agent.

Never pay an agent

Every route below is applied for on the government's own website. Fees go to the government only. Anyone who asks you to pay them for a visa, a job offer or a lottery win is not to be trusted. Check a message or offer.

Routes into United Kingdom

6 routes into United Kingdom.

Talent and high skill United Kingdom

Global Talent visa

Run by UK Visas and Immigration (Home Office)

Leaders or potential leaders in academia or research, arts and culture, or digital technology, aged 18 or over, who can get an endorsement or have won an eligible prize.

  • Only for people in science and research, creative, technology, teaching and education.
Job offer
Not required
Language
Not stated on the official page
Education
Not stated on the official page
Work experience
You need an endorsement from an endorsing body in your field, or a prize named on the eligible prize list.
Government fee
GBP 766 in total (GBP 561 for the endorsement + GBP 205 for the visa), plus the healthcare surcharge, usually GBP 1,035 per year
Processing time
Visa stage: usually 3 weeks from outside the UK, 8 weeks from inside the UK
Money you must show
Not stated on the official page
When and to whom you pay
GBP 561 to the Home Office when you apply for the endorsement; GBP 205 and the healthcare surcharge when you apply for the visa.

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on gov.uk on 2026-10-18: "academia or research", "arts and culture", "digital technology"; fee: "£561 when you apply for the endorsement", "£205 when you apply for the visa itself", "It costs £766 to apply."; surcharge: "this is usually £1,035 per year for each person applying." The documents page does not mention an English test or proof of funds. Another official page. Another official page.

Health and care workers United Kingdom

Health and Care Worker visa

Run by UK Visas and Immigration (Home Office)

Doctors, nurses, midwives and other health professionals with a job offer from a Home Office approved UK health or social care employer. New applications for care worker jobs (code 6135) are not accepted; that code is only for people extending, updating or switching inside the UK.

  • Only for people in health.
Job offer
Required, from a Home Office approved employer, in an eligible health or social care job
Language
English at CEFR level B2 (B1 only if extending or updating a visa granted before 8 January 2026). Doctors, dentists, nurses and midwives who passed an English assessment accepted by their professional body are exempt.
Education
Not stated on the official page
Work experience
Not stated on the official page
Government fee
GBP 324 per person for up to 3 years; GBP 628 per person for more than 3 years. No healthcare surcharge.
Processing time
Usually 3 weeks
Money you must show
At least GBP 1,270 in your bank account, unless you have been in the UK with a valid visa for 12 months or your employer covers your costs in your first month
When and to whom you pay
Paid to the Home Office when you apply online. The fee is the same inside or outside the UK.

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on gov.uk on 2026-10-18: "You must have a confirmed job offer before you apply for your visa."; surcharge: "You - and your partner or children - will not have to pay the healthcare surcharge."; cost page: "up to 3 years - £324 per person", "more than 3 years - £628 per person", "You must have at least £1,270 in your bank account"; English page: "to at least level B2"; job page: "You’ll usually need to be paid at least £25,000." Another official page. Another official page. Another official page.

Work visa United Kingdom

Skilled Worker visa

Run by UK Visas and Immigration (Home Office)

People with a job offer in a higher skilled occupation from a Home Office approved UK employer, paid at least GBP 41,700 a year or the going rate for the job, whichever is higher. Some medium skilled jobs qualify if on the immigration salary list or temporary shortage list.

Job offer
Required, with a certificate of sponsorship from a Home Office approved employer
Language
English at CEFR level B2 (B1 only if extending or updating a visa granted before 8 January 2026)
Education
Not stated on the official page
Work experience
Not stated on the official page
Government fee
From outside the UK: GBP 819 per person for up to 3 years; GBP 1,618 per person for more than 3 years (GBP 628 and GBP 1,235 for jobs on the immigration salary list). Plus the healthcare surcharge, usually GBP 1,035 per year.
Processing time
Usually 3 weeks from outside the UK, 8 weeks from inside the UK
Money you must show
At least GBP 1,270 in your bank account, unless you have had a valid UK visa for 12 months or your employer covers your costs in your first month
When and to whom you pay
Paid to the Home Office with the healthcare surcharge when you apply online

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on gov.uk on 2026-10-18: "work for a UK employer that's been approved by the Home Office"; job page: "£41,700 per year"; cost page: "up to 3 years - £819 per person", "more than 3 years - £1,618 per person", "this is usually £1,035 per year", "You must have at least £1,270 in your bank account to show you can support yourself in the UK."; English page: "to at least level B2" Another official page. Another official page. Another official page.

Work visa United Kingdom

Graduate visa

Run by UK Visas and Immigration (Home Office)

People already in the UK on a Student visa who have completed a UK bachelor's, master's, PhD, PGCE or PGDE. Lets you stay and work without a job offer: 2 years if you apply on or before 31 December 2026, 18 months if you apply on or after 1 January 2027, 3 years for a PhD.

Job offer
Not required
Language
Not stated on the official page
Education
A UK bachelor's degree, master's degree, PhD or doctorate, PGCE or PGDE, reported as completed by your education provider
Work experience
Not required. You must have studied in the UK for at least 12 months, or the full course if it was 12 months or shorter.
Government fee
GBP 937, plus the healthcare surcharge, usually GBP 1,035 for each year
Processing time
Usually 8 weeks
Money you must show
Not stated on the official page
When and to whom you pay
Paid to the Home Office when you apply from inside the UK

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on gov.uk on 2026-10-18: "You must be in the UK when you apply."; "pay the £937 application fee"; "this is usually £1,035 for each year you’ll be in the UK"; "2 years if you apply on or before 31 December 2026", "18 months if you apply on or after 1 January 2027" Another official page.

Study, then work United Kingdom

Student visa

Run by UK Visas and Immigration (Home Office)

People aged 16 or over offered a place on a course by a licensed student sponsor.

Job offer
Not required
Language
CEFR level B2 for degree level study or above; CEFR level B1 below degree level
Education
An offer of a place from a licensed student sponsor
Work experience
Not required
Government fee
GBP 558 from outside the UK, plus the healthcare surcharge of GBP 776 per year for students
Processing time
Usually 3 weeks from outside the UK, 8 weeks from inside the UK
Money you must show
Course fees for 1 academic year plus GBP 1,529 a month in London or GBP 1,171 a month outside London, for up to 9 months, held for 28 days in a row
When and to whom you pay
Paid to the Home Office with the healthcare surcharge when you apply online

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on gov.uk on 2026-10-18: "£558 to apply for a Student visa from outside the UK"; money page: "£1,529 per month (for up to 9 months) for courses in London", "£1,171 per month (for up to 9 months) for courses outside London"; surcharge page: "£776 per year for students, their dependants, and those on a Youth Mobility Scheme visa" Another official page. Another official page. Another official page.

Investor United Kingdom

Innovator Founder visa

Run by UK Visas and Immigration (Home Office)

Founders aged 18 or over with a new, innovative and scalable business idea endorsed by an approved endorsing body.

  • Only for people in business.
Job offer
Not required
Language
English at CEFR level B2
Education
Not stated on the official page
Work experience
Your business idea must be endorsed as new, innovative and scalable
Government fee
GBP 1,357 per person from outside the UK, plus GBP 1,000 for the endorsement, plus the healthcare surcharge, usually GBP 1,035 per year
Processing time
Usually 3 weeks from outside the UK, 8 weeks from inside the UK
Money you must show
At least GBP 1,270 in your bank account for 28 consecutive days
When and to whom you pay
Endorsement fee to the endorsing body; visa fee and healthcare surcharge to the Home Office when you apply

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on gov.uk on 2026-10-18: "innovative - you must have an original business idea which is different from anything else on the market"; "It costs £1,357 per person if you apply outside the UK."; "You'll need to pay £1,000 to get an endorsement from an approved endorsing body."; eligibility page: "at least £1,270 in your bank account for 28 consecutive days" Another official page. Another official page. Another official page.

How to keep your money safe