Qualify AfricaBeta
Partner with us

All relocation routes

Relocation and Japa

Legal ways for Africans to move to Canada

The routes Canada's government runs itself, each linked to its official page. Fees and the money you must show are copied from that page, with the date we read it. You apply yourself. You never need an agent.

Never pay an agent

Every route below is applied for on the government's own website. Fees go to the government only. Anyone who asks you to pay them for a visa, a job offer or a lottery win is not to be trusted. Check a message or offer.

Routes into Canada

10 routes into Canada, 2 of them closed now and listed at the end.

Permanent residence Canada

Express Entry: Federal Skilled Worker Program

Run by Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC)

Skilled workers anywhere in the world with a year of skilled work, a language test and enough savings, who want to settle in Canada outside Quebec. You must score 67 points or more and then be invited from the Express Entry pool.

Job offer
Not required. A valid job offer earns points and removes the need to show funds if you can already work legally in Canada.
Language
CLB 7 (NCLC 7 in French) in all four abilities in your first official language. Below CLB 7 you are not eligible.
Education
A Canadian certificate, diploma or degree, or a completed foreign credential with an Educational Credential Assessment (ECA) for immigration.
Work experience
At least 1 year of continuous paid work or 1,560 hours total (30 hours a week) in TEER 0, 1, 2 or 3, within the last 10 years, in Canada or abroad.
Government fee
CAD 1,590 per adult (processing fee CAD 990 + right of permanent residence fee CAD 600). Biometrics CAD 85 per person.
Processing time
Not stated on the official page
Money you must show
CAD 15,263 for 1 person, CAD 19,001 for 2, CAD 23,360 for 3, CAD 28,362 for 4 (table updated July 7, 2025). Not needed if you can work legally in Canada and have a valid job offer.
When and to whom you pay
Paid online to IRCC when you submit your permanent residence application after an invitation to apply. The CAD 600 right of permanent residence fee can be paid then or when the application is approved, and is refunded if you withdraw or are refused.

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on canada.ca on 2026-10-18: "be at least 1 year of continuous work or 1,560 hours total (30 hours per week)"; "If you score 67 points or higher, you may qualify for the Federal Skilled Worker Program"; language table: "Below CLB level 7" "Not eligible to apply". Fee page (Economic immigration, including Express Entry): "This amount includes the processing fee and the right of permanent residence fee. 1,590.00", "without right of permanent residence fee) 990.00", "Right of permanent residence fee 600.00". Proof of funds page: "$15,263" for 1 family member, "Updated July 7, 2025". Note: the earlier split (CAD 950 + CAD 640) was wrong; the total CAD 1,590 is unchanged. Another official page. Another official page. Another official page.

Permanent residence Canada

Express Entry: Canadian Experience Class

Run by Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC)

People who already have a year of skilled paid work in Canada, often after studying there, and want permanent residence outside Quebec. Not a route for someone with no Canadian work experience.

Job offer
Not required
Language
CLB 7 (NCLC 7) in all four abilities if your work is TEER 0 or 1; CLB 5 (NCLC 5) if it is TEER 2 or 3.
Education
No education requirement.
Work experience
At least 1 year of paid work or 1,560 hours total (30 hours a week) in Canada in TEER 0, 1, 2 or 3, in the 3 years before you apply.
Government fee
CAD 1,590 per adult (processing fee CAD 990 + right of permanent residence fee CAD 600). Biometrics CAD 85 per person.
Processing time
Not stated on the official page
Money you must show
Not required for the Canadian Experience Class.
When and to whom you pay
Paid online to IRCC when you submit your permanent residence application after an invitation to apply. The right of permanent residence fee can be paid then or on approval.

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on canada.ca on 2026-10-18: "total at least 1 year of work or 1,560 hours total (30 hours per week) in the 3 years before you apply"; "There is no education requirement for the Canadian Experience Class."; "You must plan to live outside the province of Quebec." Language page: TEER "0 or 1" "CLB 7", TEER "2 or 3" "CLB 5". Proof of funds page: no funds needed if "applying under the Canadian Experience Class". Fee page: "1,590.00" including the right of permanent residence fee "600.00". Another official page. Another official page. Another official page.

Permanent residence Canada

Express Entry: Federal Skilled Trades Program

Run by Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC)

Qualified tradespeople (for example electricians, welders, mechanics, chefs) with 2 years of trade work who have a Canadian job offer or a Canadian certificate of qualification in their trade.

  • Only for people in trades and hospitality.
Job offer
Required, unless you hold a certificate of qualification in your trade from a Canadian provincial, territorial or federal authority. The job offer must be full-time for at least 1 year.
Language
CLB 5 for speaking and listening and CLB 4 for reading and writing (NCLC 5 and NCLC 4 in French).
Education
No education requirement.
Work experience
2 years of full-time work (or 3,120 hours) in one skilled trade within the 5 years before you apply, in one of the listed NOC groups (Major Groups 72, 73, 82, 83, 92 or 93).
Government fee
CAD 1,590 per adult (processing fee CAD 990 + right of permanent residence fee CAD 600). Biometrics CAD 85 per person.
Processing time
Not stated on the official page
Money you must show
CAD 15,263 for 1 person, CAD 19,001 for 2, CAD 23,360 for 3, CAD 28,362 for 4 (table updated July 7, 2025). Not needed if you can work legally in Canada and have a valid job offer.
When and to whom you pay
Paid online to IRCC when you submit your permanent residence application after an invitation to apply. The right of permanent residence fee can be paid then or on approval.

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on canada.ca on 2026-10-18: "2 years of full-time work experience (or 3,120 hours total)" "within the 5 years before you apply"; "a valid job offer of full-time employment for a total period of at least 1 year" or "a certificate of qualification in your skilled trade issued by a Canadian provincial, territorial or federal authority"; "There is no education requirement for the Federal Skilled Trades Program." Language page: speaking and listening "CLB 5", reading and writing "CLB 4". Fee page: "1,590.00". Funds page: "$15,263". Another official page. Another official page. Another official page.

Permanent residence Canada

Ontario Immigrant Nominee Program: Ontario Workforce Priority stream

Run by Government of Ontario, Ontario Immigrant Nominee Program (OINP)

Workers with a full-time permanent job offer from an Ontario employer who have already worked in that job for the employer. Ontario nominates you and you then apply to IRCC for permanent residence. Self-employed physicians can apply without a job offer.

Job offer
Required: full-time and permanent, from an Ontario employer, paying the required wage for the job location. Not required for self-employed physicians.
Language
TEER 0 to 3 jobs: CLB 6 or higher in all four abilities, or CLB 5 for listed skilled trades. TEER 4 and 5 jobs: CLB 4 or higher.
Education
TEER 0 to 3 jobs: a postsecondary degree or diploma that takes at least one year full-time, or a Canadian high school diploma or equivalent for listed skilled trades. TEER 4 and 5 jobs: a Canadian high school diploma or equivalent.
Work experience
TEER 0 to 3: at least 6 months of consecutive paid full-time work in the job offer position in the 12 months before you apply (other options apply, such as 3 months for recent Ontario graduates). TEER 4 and 5: at least 9 months of paid full-time work in the position within 2 years.
Government fee
CAD 1,500 if the job offer is outside the Greater Toronto Area; CAD 2,000 if it is inside the Greater Toronto Area. No fee to register an expression of interest. IRCC permanent residence fees are separate.
Processing time
Not stated on the official page
Money you must show
Not stated on the official page
When and to whom you pay
Paid to the Government of Ontario when you submit your application, within 17 calendar days of an invitation to apply.

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on ontario.ca on 2026-10-18 (page updated October 06, 2026): the stream "offers eligible skilled foreign workers with a qualifying job offer and work experience in any" NOC occupation; "at least 6 months of consecutive, paid, full-time work experience in the job offer employment position". Application process page: "$1,500 if the job offer is outside of the Greater Toronto Area"; "$2,000 if the job offer is within the Greater Toronto Area (City of Toronto, Durham, Halton, Peel and York regions)"; "There is no fee to register an EOI." Another official page. Another official page.

Permanent residence Canada

Saskatchewan Immigrant Nominee Program: International Skilled Worker, Occupation In-Demand

Run by Government of Saskatchewan, Saskatchewan Immigrant Nominee Program (SINP)

Skilled workers living abroad or in Canada with no Saskatchewan job offer, whose occupation is on Saskatchewan's in-demand list. You submit an expression of interest and must be invited before you can apply. Some occupations are excluded.

Job offer
Not required
Language
CLB 4 or higher in English or French.
Education
Post-secondary education, training or apprenticeship comparable to Canada's, with a diploma, certificate or degree related to your intended occupation.
Work experience
At least 1 year of full-time (30 hours a week or more) paid work in a TEER 0, 1, 2 or 3 occupation that is in demand in Saskatchewan, within the past 10 years, related to your field of education.
Government fee
CAD 500 non-refundable application fee to Saskatchewan. IRCC permanent residence fees are separate.
Processing time
Not stated on the official page
Money you must show
The Minimum Funds Required, held for at least 3 months before you apply. The page links to the canada.ca table: CAD 15,263 for 1 person (updated July 7, 2025).
When and to whom you pay
Paid online to the Government of Saskatchewan by Visa or Mastercard as the last step before submitting your application.

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on saskatchewan.ca on 2026-10-18: "You must score a minimum of 60 points out of 110 points on the Point Assessment Grid to be considered for nomination."; "Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) 4 or higher"; "To be eligible, you must pay a non-refundable $500 application fee online by Visa or Mastercard."; "Criteria can change at any time". Linked canada.ca funds table: "$15,263". Another official page. Another official page.

Permanent residence Canada

Atlantic Immigration Program

Run by Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC)

Skilled workers and recent Atlantic Canada graduates with a job offer from a designated employer in New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island or Newfoundland and Labrador.

Job offer
Required, from a designated employer in Atlantic Canada.
Language
CLB 5 (NCLC 5) for a job offer in TEER 0, 1, 2 or 3; CLB 4 (NCLC 4) for a job offer in TEER 4, in all four abilities.
Education
Job offer in TEER 0 or 1: a one-year post-secondary credential or higher (or foreign equivalent). TEER 2, 3 or 4: a high school diploma or higher (or foreign equivalent). Foreign education needs an ECA less than 5 years old.
Work experience
At least 1,560 hours of related paid work over the past 5 years, over a period of at least 1 year, in the same TEER category as the job offer or higher. Some recent Atlantic graduates are exempt.
Government fee
CAD 1,590 per adult (processing fee CAD 990 + right of permanent residence fee CAD 600). Biometrics CAD 85 per person.
Processing time
Not stated on the official page
Money you must show
CAD 3,815 for 1 person, CAD 4,750 for 2 (table updated July 29, 2025). Not needed if you already live and work in Canada on a valid work permit.
When and to whom you pay
Paid online to IRCC when you submit your permanent residence application. The right of permanent residence fee can be paid then or on approval.

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on canada.ca on 2026-10-18: "You must receive a job offer from a designated employer in Atlantic Canada to participate in the program."; work experience page: "You need at least 1,560 hours of related work experience over the past 5 years."; language page: "CLB 5 for job offer in TEER 0, 1, 2 or 3", "CLB 4 for job offer in TEER 4"; funds page: "$3,815" for 1 family member. Fee page lists "Atlantic immigration program" under economic immigration: "1,590.00". Another official page. Another official page. Another official page. Another official page. Another official page. Another official page.

Study, then work Canada

Study permit

Run by Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC)

People accepted by a designated learning institution (DLI) in Canada who can pay tuition and living costs. Most applicants also need a provincial or territorial attestation letter, which you get after accepting your offer and paying tuition. Quebec students need a Quebec Acceptance Certificate (CAQ) instead.

Job offer
Not required
Language
Not stated on the official page. Your school sets its own language requirement.
Education
A letter of acceptance from a designated learning institution is always required.
Work experience
Not required
Government fee
CAD 150 per person. Biometrics CAD 85 per person (CAD 170 maximum for a family).
Processing time
Not stated on the official page
Money you must show
Outside Quebec, for applications on or after September 1, 2026: CAD 23,448 a year for 1 person for living costs, plus your tuition and transportation, which are not included.
When and to whom you pay
Paid online to IRCC when you submit the study permit application.

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on canada.ca on 2026-10-18: eligibility: "are enrolled at a DLI"; documents page: letter of acceptance "Always required", attestation letter "Needed in most cases". Financial support page: "If you apply on or after September 1, 2026", "All provinces and territories except Quebec", 1 person "$23,448"; "These amounts do not include tuition and transportation costs." Fee page: "Study permit (including extensions) - per person 150.00". Another official page. Another official page. Another official page.

Work visa Canada

Post-Graduation Work Permit (PGWP)

Run by Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC)

International students who finished a program of at least 8 months at a PGWP-eligible designated learning institution in Canada. Work done on it can count toward the Canadian Experience Class.

Job offer
Not required
Language
University bachelor's, master's or doctoral graduates: CLB 7 (NCLC 7). College or polytechnic graduates: CLB 5 (NCLC 5).
Education
Completed a program of at least 8 months (900 hours in Quebec) at a PGWP-eligible designated learning institution. Graduates below bachelor's level who applied for their study permit on or after November 1, 2024 must have studied an eligible field.
Work experience
Not required
Government fee
CAD 255 (work permit fee CAD 155 + open work permit holder fee CAD 100). Biometrics CAD 85.
Processing time
Not stated on the official page
Money you must show
Not stated on the official page
When and to whom you pay
Paid online to IRCC at the end of the application. Apply within 180 days of confirmation that you completed your program.

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on canada.ca on 2026-10-18: "at least 8 months long (or 900 hours for Quebec programs)"; "apply for your PGWP within 180 days of confirmation that you completed your program of study"; about page: "The length of your PGWP depends on the level and duration of your study program", programs of 2 years or more: "We may give you a PGWP that's valid for 3 years." Apply page: "pay the correct fee ($255)". Fee page: work permit "155.00", "Open work permit holder 100.00". Another official page. Another official page. Another official page.

Closed now

These routes take no new applications. Anyone selling a place on one is lying.

Permanent residence Closed Canada

Ontario Immigrant Nominee Program: Human Capital Priorities stream

Run by Government of Ontario, Ontario Immigrant Nominee Program (OINP)

Closed. Ontario closed this stream as of May 30, 2026 in its program redesign and no longer takes new applications. Anyone offering to get you into it is not telling the truth. Ontario now uses the Ontario Workforce Priority stream, which needs a job offer.

Job offer
Not required when the stream was open. The stream is now closed.
Language
CLB 7 or higher in English or French when the stream was open. The stream is now closed.
Education
A Canadian bachelor's, master's or PhD degree or foreign equivalent with an ECA, when the stream was open. The stream is now closed.
Work experience
At least 1 year of paid full-time work in TEER 0, 1, 2 or 3, when the stream was open. The stream is now closed.
Government fee
Not stated on the official page. The archived page lists no fee and the stream is closed.
Processing time
Not stated on the official page
Money you must show
Not stated on the official page
When and to whom you pay
Not applicable. The stream is closed.

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on ontario.ca on 2026-10-18: "This page has been archived"; "Please note that this stream was closed as of May 30, 2026, as part of the OINP redesign." 2026 OINP updates page (June 26): "As part of the redesign of the OINP, the following streams have been closed:" listing "Express Entry Human Capital Priorities". The earlier figure of CAD 1,500 could not be confirmed for this stream; CAD 1,500 is now the fee for the new Ontario Workforce Priority stream outside the Greater Toronto Area. Another official page.

Permanent residence Closed Canada

Home Care Worker Immigration pilots: child care and home support

Run by Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC)

Closed. Both streams (workers in Canada and applicants not working in Canada) are closed while IRCC processes existing applications. No reopening date is given. Anyone selling a place in this pilot is not telling the truth.

  • Only for people in health.
Job offer
Not applicable. The pilots are closed.
Language
Not stated on the official page
Education
Not stated on the official page
Work experience
Not stated on the official page
Government fee
Not applicable while closed. The fee page lists CAD 1,590 per adult for the 2025 caregiver pilots.
Processing time
Not stated on the official page
Money you must show
Not stated on the official page
When and to whom you pay
Not applicable. The pilots are closed.

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on canada.ca on 2026-10-18: "Closed: Immigrate through the Home Care Worker Immigration pilots"; "Streams closed"; "The pilots are closed while we focus on processing existing applications." Page details date 2026-04-23. Another official page.

How to keep your money safe