Qualify AfricaBeta
Partner with us

All relocation routes

Relocation and Japa

Legal ways for Africans to move to Germany

The routes Germany's government runs itself, each linked to its official page. Fees and the money you must show are copied from that page, with the date we read it. You apply yourself. You never need an agent.

Never pay an agent

Every route below is applied for on the government's own website. Fees go to the government only. Anyone who asks you to pay them for a visa, a job offer or a lottery win is not to be trusted. Check a message or offer.

Routes into Germany

5 routes into Germany.

Job seeker visa Germany

Opportunity Card (Chancenkarte) to look for work

Run by German missions abroad (Federal Foreign Office) and the Federal Employment Agency; information from Make it in Germany (Federal Government)

Skilled people with a degree or at least two years of vocational training who want to come to Germany and look for a job for up to one year.

Job offer
Not required. Part-time work and trial work are allowed while you search.
Language
With a fully recognised qualification, none. On the points route, German at level A1 or English at level B2 (CEFR).
Education
Either a qualification fully recognised in Germany, or a vocational qualification of at least two years or a university degree recognised by the country where it was earned, plus six points.
Work experience
Not required for the fully recognised option. On the points route, work experience earns points.
Government fee
EUR 75 for a national (long stay) visa, EUR 37.50 for minors
Processing time
Several months, depending on the purpose of stay (Federal Foreign Office)
Money you must show
A blocked bank account with at least EUR 1,091 net per month (2026 amount), or a declaration of commitment.
When and to whom you pay
At the German mission when you apply for the visa.

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on make-it-in-germany.com on 2026-10-18: "German language skills of at least level A1 ... or English language skills of at least level B2 (CEFR)"; "blocked bank account (containing a minimum of €1,091 net per month, amount applicable in 2026) or a declaration of commitment". Fee read on auswaertiges-amt.de: "für nationale Visa (zum längerfristigen Aufenthalt) 75 Euro". Another official page.

Work visa Germany

EU Blue Card

Run by German missions abroad (Federal Foreign Office) and the Federal Employment Agency; information from Make it in Germany (Federal Government)

University graduates with a job offer in Germany at the Blue Card salary. IT specialists without a degree can qualify with three years of IT work in the last seven.

Job offer
Required. A qualified job of at least six months with a gross salary of at least EUR 50,700 a year (2026), or EUR 45,934.20 for shortage occupations and new graduates (with Federal Employment Agency approval).
Language
Not stated on the official page
Education
A German degree, a comparable foreign degree, or a tertiary qualification of at least three years at ISCED level 6. IT specialists may qualify without a degree.
Work experience
Not required with a degree. IT specialists without a degree need at least three years of IT work in the past seven years.
Government fee
EUR 75 for a national (long stay) visa, EUR 37.50 for minors
Processing time
Several months, depending on the purpose of stay (Federal Foreign Office)
Money you must show
Not stated on the official page
When and to whom you pay
At the German mission when you apply for the visa.

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on make-it-in-germany.com on 2026-10-18: "at least €50,700 (as of 2026)"; "€45,934.20 (as of 2026)"; "worked in IT for at least three of the past seven years". Fee read on auswaertiges-amt.de: "für nationale Visa (zum längerfristigen Aufenthalt) 75 Euro". Another official page.

Work visa Germany

Skilled worker visa (vocational or academic qualification)

Run by German missions abroad (Federal Foreign Office) and the Federal Employment Agency; information from Make it in Germany (Federal Government)

People with vocational training or a degree recognised in Germany who have a job offer for a qualified position.

Job offer
Required. A specific job offer for a qualified position. As a rule, the Federal Employment Agency must approve the job.
Language
Not stated on the official page
Education
A vocational or academic qualification recognised in Germany or comparable to a German qualification. A licence to practise is needed for regulated professions.
Work experience
Not stated on the official page. If you are over 45 and working in Germany for the first time, you need a salary of at least EUR 55,770 a year (2026) or adequate pension provision.
Government fee
EUR 75 for a national (long stay) visa, EUR 37.50 for minors
Processing time
Several months, depending on the purpose of stay (Federal Foreign Office)
Money you must show
Not stated on the official page
When and to whom you pay
At the German mission when you apply for the visa.

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on make-it-in-germany.com on 2026-10-18: "Your qualification must be recognised in Germany or comparable to a German academic qualification"; "As a rule, the Federal Employment Agency (BA) must first approve your employment"; "at least €55,770 (as of 2026)". Fee read on auswaertiges-amt.de: "für nationale Visa (zum längerfristigen Aufenthalt) 75 Euro". Another official page.

Study, then work Germany

Visa for vocational training (Ausbildung)

Run by German missions abroad (Federal Foreign Office) and the Federal Employment Agency; information from Make it in Germany (Federal Government)

School leavers and young adults who have a training place in Germany and want to learn a trade or profession while being paid.

Job offer
A specific training place in Germany is required.
Language
German at level B1 is normally required.
Education
Not stated on the official page
Work experience
Not required.
Government fee
EUR 75 for the visa (paid in local currency). Residence permit fees in Germany may add up to EUR 100.
Processing time
Several months, depending on the purpose of stay (Federal Foreign Office)
Money you must show
School-based training: at least EUR 959 net per month (2026). Company-based training: a training allowance of at least EUR 1,048 gross or EUR 822 net per month (2026).
When and to whom you pay
The visa fee at the German mission when you apply. Residence permit fees later in Germany.

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on make-it-in-germany.com on 2026-10-18: "You will normally require German language skills at level B1"; "at least €959 net per month (as of 2026)". Ausbildung PDF on the same site: "Pay the visa fees: €75 (in local currency)". Another official page. Another official page.

Study, then work Germany

Student visa for university study

Run by German missions abroad (Federal Foreign Office) and the Federal Employment Agency; information from Make it in Germany (Federal Government)

Students admitted to a state-recognised university in Germany. You may stay up to 18 months after graduating to look for a job.

Job offer
Not required. Work up to 140 full days or 280 half days a year, or up to 20 hours a week.
Language
Depends on the programme. Usually level B2 where German language skills are required.
Education
Admission to a state-recognised higher education institution in Germany.
Work experience
Not required.
Government fee
EUR 75 for a national (long stay) visa, EUR 37.50 for minors
Processing time
Several months, depending on the purpose of stay (Federal Foreign Office)
Money you must show
Proof of at least EUR 11,904 for 2026, for example in a blocked account.
When and to whom you pay
At the German mission when you apply for the visa.

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on make-it-in-germany.com on 2026-10-18: "You have been admitted to a state-recognised higher education institution in Germany"; "at least €11,904 in 2026". Fee read on auswaertiges-amt.de: "für nationale Visa (zum längerfristigen Aufenthalt) 75 Euro". Another official page.

How to keep your money safe