The routes South Africa's government runs itself, each linked to its official page.
Fees and the money you must show are copied from that page, with the date we read it.
You apply yourself. You never need an agent.
Never pay an agent
Every route below is applied for on the government's own website. Fees go to the government only. Anyone who asks you to pay them for a visa, a job offer or a lottery win is not to be trusted. Check a message or offer.
Read on dha.gov.za on 2026-10-18: occupation must be "on the latest Critical Skills List"; professional body confirms "appropriate post qualification experience"; issued "for a period not exceeding five years at a time". Fees page: "Work visa (including applications for renewal) | 19 | R1 520, 00". Turnaround page: "Critical Skills Visa - Section 19(4) incl. TES" 4 weeks. Also requires medical report and police clearance for countries lived in over 12 months in the last 5 years. Another official page. Another official page. Another official page. Another official page.
Read on dha.gov.za on 2026-10-18: requirements PDF lists employer undertakings, SAQA evaluation and employer CIPC registration, issued for up to five years. Fees page: "Work visa (including applications for renewal) | 19 | R1 520, 00". Turnaround page: "General Work Visa - Section 19(2) incl. TES" 4 weeks. Another official page. Another official page.
People employed by a foreign employer who want to work remotely from South Africa for more than 3 months and up to 3 years. The holder may not take up employment in South Africa.
Job offer
Contract with a foreign employer required
Language
Not stated on the official page
Education
Not stated on the official page
Work experience
Not stated on the official page
Government fee
ZAR 425 (visitor's visa, section 11)
Processing time
60 days for section 11(1) visitor's visas submitted within South Africa (DHA turnaround page)
Money you must show
Gross salary of at least ZAR 650,796 per year, shown with three months of bank statements
Read on dha.gov.za on 2026-10-18: "Proof of sufficient financial means, defined as a gross salary of no less than the equivalent of R650 796, 00 per annum in the form of three months bank statements."; holder "is not entitled to take up employment in South Africa". Fees page: visitor's visa section 11 "R425,00". Turnaround page: "Visitor's Visa - Section 11(1)" 60 days. Return ticket required; no change of status inside the country. Another official page. Another official page.
How to keep your money safe
Never pay an agent, a consultant or a "visa officer" on WhatsApp or Telegram. Every route here is applied for on the government's own website.
A real employer never asks you to pay for a job offer, a sponsorship certificate or a visa deposit.
Government fees are paid to the government itself, on its own website or at its embassy. Never into a person's bank account or mobile money.
Check the web address. Canada uses canada.ca, the UK uses gov.uk, the US uses .gov. A look-alike address is a fake.
Nobody can promise you a visa or win you a lottery. The US visa lottery is free to enter on its own website.