Qualify AfricaBeta
Partner with us

All relocation routes

Relocation and Japa

Legal ways for Africans to move to New Zealand

The routes New Zealand's government runs itself, each linked to its official page. Fees and the money you must show are copied from that page, with the date we read it. You apply yourself. You never need an agent.

Never pay an agent

Every route below is applied for on the government's own website. Fees go to the government only. Anyone who asks you to pay them for a visa, a job offer or a lottery win is not to be trusted. Check a message or offer.

Routes into New Zealand

4 routes into New Zealand.

Permanent residence New Zealand

Skilled Migrant Category Resident Visa

Run by Immigration New Zealand (INZ)

Skilled workers aged 55 or younger with a full time job or job offer from an accredited New Zealand employer, who reach 6 points through qualifications, registration or income. You submit an Expression of Interest and must be invited.

Job offer
Required. A full time job or job offer from an accredited employer, at least 30 hours a week, permanent or fixed term for at least 12 months.
Language
IELTS overall 6.5 or more for the principal applicant (or TOEFL iBT 79, PTE Academic 58, B2 First 176, OET C+). Tests must be no more than 2 years old.
Education
No fixed minimum. Points come from 1 skill category: qualification, New Zealand occupational registration, or income.
Work experience
Points pathway: up to 3 more points from skilled work in New Zealand. Other pathways need at least 5 years of relevant experience with 2 years in New Zealand, or for trades and technicians at least 4 years after qualifying with 18 months in New Zealand.
Government fee
From NZD 6,450. The exact fee depends on your nationality and where you apply.
Processing time
Not stated on the official page
Money you must show
Not stated on the official page
When and to whom you pay
Paid online when you submit the application after being invited.

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on immigration.govt.nz on 2026-10-18: "You need 6 skilled resident points"; cost: "From NZD $6450"; English page: "IELTS Overall score of 6.5 or more". Another official page.

Permanent residence New Zealand

Straight to Residence Visa (Green List Tier 1)

Run by Immigration New Zealand (INZ)

People aged 55 or younger with a job or offer in a Green List Tier 1 role from an accredited employer, who meet the Green List registration or qualification requirements.

Job offer
Required. A Green List Tier 1 job with an accredited employer, paid at the specified rate or at least NZD 35.00 an hour (the 2025 median wage) where that applies.
Language
Not stated on the official page
Education
You must meet the registration and qualification requirements on the Green List for your role. An International Qualification Assessment may be needed.
Work experience
Depends on the Green List role. Not stated as a general rule on the page.
Government fee
NZD 6,450 application cost, shown for a Nigerian national applying from Nigeria. It includes a non refundable immigration levy.
Processing time
80% of applications are decided within 3 months, according to the page.
Money you must show
Not stated on the official page
When and to whom you pay
Paid online by Visa, Mastercard or UnionPay when you apply. Application costs are not refunded if the application is declined.

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on immigration.govt.nz on 2026-10-18 with Nigeria selected: "$ 6,450NZD Application cost"; "80% within 3 months"

Work visa New Zealand

Accredited Employer Work Visa

Run by Immigration New Zealand (INZ)

Workers with a full time job offer from an accredited New Zealand employer, with 2 years of relevant experience or a level 4 qualification. Horticulture and viticulture crop work, fishing crew and self employed work are excluded. Partners and children cannot be included.

Job offer
Required. A full time offer of at least 30 hours a week from an accredited employer with an approved job check, paid at least the market rate.
Language
English is required if the job is at ANZSCO skill level 3 to 5. The level is not stated on the page read.
Education
A qualification at level 4 or higher on the NZQCF, or 2 years or more of relevant job experience.
Work experience
2 years or more of relevant job experience, or a level 4 qualification instead.
Government fee
From NZD 1,540. The exact fee depends on your nationality and where you apply.
Processing time
80% of applications are decided within 5 weeks, according to the page. The visa lasts up to 5 years, or 3 years for skill level 4 or 5 jobs.
Money you must show
Not stated on the official page
When and to whom you pay
Paid online when you apply. INZ will decline the application if money was offered to the employer for the job offer.

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on immigration.govt.nz on 2026-10-18: "2 years or more of relevant job experience, or a qualification at level 4 or higher on the New Zealand Qualifications and Credentials Framework (NZQCF)"; "From NZD $1540"; "80% within 5 weeks".

Study, then work New Zealand

Fee Paying Student Visa

Run by Immigration New Zealand (INZ)

Students with an offer of place from an approved New Zealand education provider who can pay tuition and show living funds. You can work up to 25 hours a week while studying.

Job offer
Not required.
Language
Set by your course and education provider.
Education
An offer of place from an approved education provider.
Work experience
Not required.
Government fee
From NZD 850. The exact fee depends on your nationality and where you apply.
Processing time
80% of applications are decided within 7 weeks, according to the page. The visa lasts up to 4 years.
Money you must show
NZD 20,000 for each year of study if you study for 1 year or more, or NZD 1,667 a month for shorter study, plus tuition fees.
When and to whom you pay
Paid online when you apply.

Read the official page

Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says

Read on immigration.govt.nz on 2026-10-18: "NZD $20,000 for each year if you are studying for 1 year or more"; "From NZD $850"; "80% within 7 weeks".

How to keep your money safe