Permanent residence New Zealand
Skilled Migrant Category Resident Visa
Run by Immigration New Zealand (INZ)
Skilled workers aged 55 or younger with a full time job or job offer from an accredited New Zealand employer, who reach 6 points through qualifications, registration or income. You submit an Expression of Interest and must be invited.
- Job offer
- Required. A full time job or job offer from an accredited employer, at least 30 hours a week, permanent or fixed term for at least 12 months.
- Language
- IELTS overall 6.5 or more for the principal applicant (or TOEFL iBT 79, PTE Academic 58, B2 First 176, OET C+). Tests must be no more than 2 years old.
- Education
- No fixed minimum. Points come from 1 skill category: qualification, New Zealand occupational registration, or income.
- Work experience
- Points pathway: up to 3 more points from skilled work in New Zealand. Other pathways need at least 5 years of relevant experience with 2 years in New Zealand, or for trades and technicians at least 4 years after qualifying with 18 months in New Zealand.
- Government fee
- From NZD 6,450. The exact fee depends on your nationality and where you apply.
- Processing time
- Not stated on the official page
- Money you must show
- Not stated on the official page
- When and to whom you pay
- Paid online when you submit the application after being invited.
Checked on 18 October 2026. What the page says
Read on immigration.govt.nz on 2026-10-18: "You need 6 skilled resident points"; cost: "From NZD $6450"; English page: "IELTS Overall score of 6.5 or more". Another official page.